rushthatspeaks: (Default)
[personal profile] rushthatspeaks
I missed Vericon due to illness. Blargh. It is my second major cold of January, and I want to have a serious talk with my immune system.

On the other hand, I've managed to keep plugging away on the New Thing, during the short time each day I've managed to have enough brain for Internet research. Mind you, my current Interesting Research Tidbit is probably cheating.

Interesting Research Tidbit: Honey-Nut Cheerios taste pretty good with a raspberry yogurt smoothie in lieu of milk. Of course, we were out of milk.

At some point soon I need to decide how much of the Olympics I'm going to pay attention to. I love the Olympics dearly, but there are several major problems with the television coverage, one of which the boy sums up as follows: "Why do all the athletes have to have so many relatives?" Because yeah, you just know there's going to be a little segment with each and every We-Hope-A-Major-Contender discussing how their relatives scrimped and saved and sacrificed to get them here and are now sitting in the stands right over there having mortgaged the farm and the immortal souls of all concerned for Just This One Chance. And, um, I didn't particularly find that segment that interesting the first time I saw it.

I'd much prefer watching those bits if I had a guarantee of any of the following sentences making an appearance:

"[Athlete's] family are total slackers who didn't bother to turn up or anything, though they're probably watching this on cable because it's on ESPN."

"Our informants state that [athlete] was grown in a vat. All other information has been labelled Top Secret by [country], and our spies have been unable to enlighten us."

"Our sponsors are boycotting [athlete]. His name will never be mentioned on this channel again."

"[Athlete] has been proven to be Carmen San Diego."

"[Athlete's] family consider his sport an abomination before the Lord. To donate to their telethon, contact [ ]"

"[Athlete] likes margaritas and long walks on the beach. Call now! No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Also makes julienne fries."

"This athlete has declined to give his name, for all his honor and glory must go towards spreading the good reputation of his master, the Supreme Leader of Genosha."

"[Athlete] is actually three small children in an [athlete] suit, and their mother wants to know how they got to Italy."

"[Athlete] attributes her great success to the fact that she believes her sport to be a live-action version of Super Smash Brothers Melee. This is her third chess gold."

... yeah. If anyone can verify hearing any of those on any sports coverage during the Olympics, let me know, and I will be absolutely *glued* to my television. Possibly literally.

I hate my sinuses.

Date: 2006-01-29 11:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marchharetay.livejournal.com
The Carmen Sandiego had me rolling.

Date: 2006-01-29 11:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marchharetay.livejournal.com
Oh, and the smoothie thing I could see. I was allergic to milk for years & never got in the habit of eating it over cereal. To this day anything more than the smallest amount of it on my cereal seems disgusting, and generally I prefer to do without it. I do, however, love my granola in yogurt (generally though not always vanilla).

Date: 2006-01-30 12:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nineweaving.livejournal.com
You were missed.

Nine

Date: 2006-01-30 01:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] marith.livejournal.com
Someday, when I own a broadcast network, you will be offered a position as Olympic commentator.

Date: 2006-01-30 03:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thomasyan.livejournal.com
I'm planning to post about how I want TaiVo: TiVo with AI good enough to compress/edit out the boring bits. I wanted it for Australian Open (tennis), but the Olympics would be another great application.

Maybe I need to rethink my Top 5 Wishlist for the World. That, or make a top 10 list....

Date: 2006-01-30 01:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] papersky.livejournal.com
Last time they had Olympics, I watched it on Google. I don't have a TV, so not watching things is easy. But Google had different cartoon pictures every day of Ancient Greek people doing Olympic sports, and I enjoyed them.

Date: 2006-01-30 09:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mixedborder.livejournal.com
LOL! Me too, I HATE the smarmy Human Interest segments--especially because they take away time that they could be showing the actual COMPETITION!

And those damn flashy montages of bits & pieces of action set to rock music. I HATEHATEHATE those! JUST SHOW US THE $^*&^(*&^%$ COMPETITION!!!!!

Whew. Thank you for this opportunity to rant.

Profile

rushthatspeaks: (Default)
rushthatspeaks

January 2025

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415 161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:25 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios