rushthatspeaks: (Default)
[personal profile] rushthatspeaks
Thanks to [personal profile] kathmandu's link in the comments of my last entry, I was able to get a PCR test this afternoon. And they sent the results within like three hours, which I was not expecting, but okay.

Negative.

This means that I probably have the flu, then, given the body aches and fever, and that smell and taste are okay. It's supposed to be an early and bad flu season, and I hadn't had a shot yet because it really is still early and I've been busy. (I suppose it could still be covid, since I do know people who've clearly had it and never tested positive, but Occam's razor here suggests flu.) Glad to know this, as it affects the timing of getting my next booster, among other things.

I feel better about my mask protocols probably working, since flu is readily transmissible via surfaces. I mask at all times when within six feet of someone not in my bubble and whenever indoors somewhere not the house of someone in my bubble, period, and I have been hoping that that will be enough, especially since I also minimize being inside with people not in my bubble. But there was a certain amount of being indoors around strangers that was just unavoidable with the move. Also the movers said that masks would significantly impede their work capacity, so I wound up spending most of the move on my outside porch away from them and letting them not mask. Honestly, I can see how masking would impede heaving around hundreds of pounds of stuff-- my lifting capacity is decreased enough by masking that I have to take careful account of it in day-to-day life-- but I've been second-guessing myself about it. I think they'd have masked if I insisted, but the move already went like eight hours over the original time estimate, and if it had taken them much longer I wouldn't have been able to pay for it... this is the kind of calculus I hate having to do.

Anyway, next step is getting a flu test from my primary care physician to see about Tamiflu. Hopefully I will start feeling better soon, one way or another.

Date: 2022-09-09 05:43 pm (UTC)
starlady: Raven on a MacBook (Default)
From: [personal profile] starlady
Well, that sounds like good news, sort of. I hope you can get the Tamiflu and feel better soon! And I am going to see about possibly moving up my flu shot, I was planning to wait until October as always.

Profile

rushthatspeaks: (Default)
rushthatspeaks

January 2025

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415 161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios